Grey/White smoke pouring from the front of my car :(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grey/White smoke pouring from the front of my car :(

Can someone here give me at least maybe an idea of what I Am in for? I got to work and pulled up and the fonr ot my hood started pouring white smoke/grey smoke from the hood where like my alt. and all that is....

I'm not asking for a fix but at least an idea if it is going to be like fatal for my engine or if this is something hopefully simple that can be fixed, PLEASE!

I'm desperate!!

If I were to guess, I'd say it could be one of these things, keep in mind I have no experience with rotary engines.

1) You could have a problem with your voltage regulator, causing it to overcharge and heat your battery

2) Oil leak, possibly from a valve cover gasket, that dripped on to your alternator
    Go Huskers.

Comment

I spoke to my Uncle who is a guru with cars, I think it is a hose that is leaking, cause it def has to do with my radiator and coolant somehow. I just need to get it looked at asap so I don't hurt anything further

Comment

Originally posted by BarkdogRX7 View Post
        I spoke to my Uncle who is a guru with cars, I think it is a hose that is leaking, cause it def has to do with my radiator and coolant somehow. I just need to get it looked at asap so I don't hurt anything further
        White smoke is a good indicator of coolant. Probably have a leaky hose. Those arent horrible to fix. Just have someone crank the car for a second while you spot the leak and have them quick cut it off. Replace the hose, refill the radiator with 50/50 and you are done.
        sigpic

I adopt andrewmlb.

Comment

If it smells sweet, it's definately coolant. Burning coolant has a very distinctive smell. Much different than burning oil, or a gasoline leak.

Typically those issues are not hard to fix, but if it's the radiator that's another story. But do as McSmashie said, and it'll be pretty easy to track down.