Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ubuntu Linux (Lucid Lynx)

Hellooooo. Here with another techy question. Sorry

I have Windows Vista (it's garbage). Since I'm a student, I also have the option to upgrade to Windows 7 Professional for $64.95 with a student discount.

My question is whether I should go for W7 Pro (I know, it's a great buy), or go for Ubuntu Linux 10.04?

I know that it will really come down to personal preference, but if Ubuntu is stable, fast and secure, then I'll save my $65 and go for that.

I don't know much about Ubuntu, other than it's highly compatible with most hardware and pretty quick. I tried it once, but that was a while ago.

I don't want to do a dual-boot either. I want to clean install either W7 Pro or Ubuntu Linux.

Any help/information would be great. I know I can just google this, but I rather get info from people I trust on these forums

sigpic

FA Targets: DT Jason Jones, DT Pat Simms, S Reggie Smith, LB Dan Connor

:cool:

It really depends on what you'll be using it for?

I'm running XP 64bit SP3x on this computer, Ubuntu on another and my two laptops both run XP too. On my personal server, I'm running Debian.

Like you said, Vista is garbage and while Win 7 is better, it's still crap in my book.

Obviously, you'll not want to install Ubuntu for gaming purposes, but aside from that and coupled with OpenOffice, it's a great choice.

If you're gaming, go with Windows. I don't care how fancy Win 7 looks though and how many updates it's gotten, it's still awfully slow. Ten years in and XP and Win NT 5.2 remain the best MS OS' yet.
    Adopted Poster
    AZ Snake Fan

Comment