• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Peerless
    Football Immortal
    • May 2004

The Official Investing / Stock Market Thread

I turned 30 last year and made a commitment to get very serious about investing for my future and retirement (which is YEARS away).

I started to read, read, and read more - especially on information written from the late John Bogle. You can say, I've sort of become a boglehead.

My wife and I have been fortunate to max out each our Roth IRA accounts for years 2018, 2019, and 2020 to take advantage of tax free growth. We've also been increasing our pretax accounts where she's contributing 11% to her employer sponsored 401k, while I've upped my contribution to 21% of my employer sponsored 457 plan.

I can say that I'm a newbie investor and haven't experienced any sort of market crash, correction, or recession. 2008 - the most recent historic market crash I was just a naive freshman in college.

But the start of 2020, I can officially say that I've experienced some serious market volatility. I'm not one to panic and sell of course. I am FAR from that. I know that time in the market ALWAYS trumps timing the market, and I plan to continue to buy and contribute to my accounts as if nothing was happening. I guess you could say stocks are on sale...

I don't even plan on looking at my portfolio anymore - because I'm fortunate enough to not need the money tomorrow, next year, or even in five years. I'll be REALLY looking at it 20+ years down the line.

"Stay the course" - a term that John Bogle used over and over again.

But I figured I'd start this thread to talk, learn, interject about the market. The DJI with a 10% loss today to add to the red from the last few weeks, an official Bear market we are in.

How's everyone else doing? Any aggressive day traders here? Or are there more slow, steady investors? I'm curious to know.
  • CanDB
    Football Immortal
    • Mar 2008

I am not young. Very conservative portfolio. Stay the course.