Decision time

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Decision time

As many of you know, I'm a poor college student trying to make money while I get through school so I can get a good career as a journalist.

Last week, I started a job working in a call center as a sales rep for a major satellite TV provider. When I interviewed for the position, I was told a lot of things, mainly that I would be making good money if I'm a good salesperson.

I'm now considering walking out the door right now. Just picking up my things and leaving.

They lied. They lied about the amount of call volume this place gets. They lied about the average close rates for the call center. They lied about the numbers, period. The computer system they use sucks. It's web-based, and it loses information at critical times. The phone system drops calls. The supervisors are useless. The facility is crappy and dirty. This place is miserable.

Now, two part question:

One, should I just leave, or should I continue to stick it out? I've only been here a week, and I already dread walking into the building.

Two, what should I do if I quit? I need part-time work and fast cash - I'm thinking about delivering pizzas or something stupid like that.

Soooooo mad.
    HEAR ME ROAR!
    sigpic
    Thanks to Freyaka for the great sig!

Oh, wow. That really sucks, WhoDey.

Quitting before Christmas is really hard. I guess take a look at your bills, see what needs to be paid quickly and is due soon, how much you have in your account to get by for a bit.

Check out the classifieds, see what part-time you would like. If there is nothing, stick it out for a bit. But I'd think a large city like Cincy would have some part time work available all the time.

Nothing worse than jumping out of the frypan and right into the fire.

Or...you can just be a HUGE slacker at work, play on the internet all day and not answer the phone See how long they will let you hang around.
    sigpic
    Adopted by: Peanut