• Show
Clear All

• Ramsey learning system quickly

http://www.denverpost.com/broncos/ci_6033499

Ramsey learning system quickly
    QB adjusts well to new offense
    By Tom Kensler Denver Post Staff Writer
    Article Last Updated: 06/01/2007 03:34:51 AM MDT

Backup quarterback Patrick Ramsey says he is adjusting well to Denver's offensive system. (Post / Hyoung Chang)
    Signed as a free agent to be the Broncos' backup quarterback, Patrick Ramsey has surprised even himself by how quickly he is learning the offense.

Ramsey, a sixth-year pro who has 24 career starts in the NFL, isn't sure the smooth adjustment is a result of him being older and wiser, or because Mike Shanahan's offense makes so much sense.

"It's my first time in this system, and I'm still adjusting," Ramsey said. "But I feel like I'm picking it up quicker than I have with other systems.

"Maybe the teams I've been with ran kind of a hybrid of what we're doing. Everybody kind of takes from other teams."

All of Ramsey's starts came with the Washington Redskins, who drafted him in the first round (32nd overall) out of Tulane in 2002. In 2003, Ramsey started 11 games, throwing for career bests of 2,166 yards and 14 touchdowns against nine interceptions. A trade brought Ramsey to the New York Jets last season, but he played in only one game and attempted only one pass.

"I don't want to get into comparing and contrasting (with other organizations), but I will say this: I'm very content and happy here, with the way things are run and the coaches we have," Ramsey said Thursday after a two-hour team camp workout. "I feel it's a real good move for me.

"I love the stability here; it was just really attractive to me," he added. "One of my good friends, Trey Teague, played here (1998-2001), and he spoke highly of this organization."

Ramsey, 6-feet-3 and 225 pounds, understands and accepts his role as Jay Cutler's backup. The two get along great, Ramsey said.