Draft Trade Idea (03/22/06)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Draft Trade Idea (03/22/06)

Call it a stretch, but I have an idea that I hope Broncos management has already thought up when making the trade with Atlanta.

We all agree that getting a pass rushing DE would greatly benefit our defense, yes? We have two first round picks, which gives us a lot of leverage in signing quality players, but I have some doubts about how quickly the DEs will develop at pick 15. Obviously, I'm not a pro scout, but from what I hear, NC State DE Mario Williams is a beast and many scouts are saying that he has all the tools to be instantly successful in the league. I realize that in a lot of mock draft boards, he is likely gone in the top 5 picks, and thanks to New Orleans' signing of Drew Brees, he could very well be gone at #2 if NO doesn't trade down.

New Orleans is obviously in a state of rebuilding. Signing Brees is a clear improvement if he can keep his shoulder healthy, but is by no means a signing that will put them over the top this year. So as good as Mario Williams is said to be, NO already has two quality DEs on their roster, and have other problem positions they need to deal with.

So I say, we take a risk and trade our two first rounders to NO for the 2nd overall pick and nab us Mario Williams. We have solid DTs who can stop the run, we already pressure the QB well, Lynch is a blitz monster, our LBs are top in the league, Champ can iso cover any WR in the league, and Darrent Williams/Dominique Foxworth will likely improve next year with a year of experience under their belts.

A Mario Williams signing seems to fit the bill. He's young and can pressure the QB, and has the speed to get sacks as well.

Thoughts?

Originally posted by jermaphobic
    Call it a stretch, but I have an idea that I hope Broncos management has already thought up when making the trade with Atlanta.

Thoughts?
    You said it with your first four words.